Castle Hill Lighthouse

The Castle Hill Lighthouse was built in 1890, and is accessible via the Castle Hill Inn and Resort at the end of historic Ocean Drive. The Castle Hill Lighthouse was built thanks to the sale of the land for $1.00 by the famous naturalist, oceanographer, and zoologist Alexander Agassiz. His daughter-in-law Mrs. Maximillian Agassiz, retained the Castle Hill Inn until 1938. She then sold it after the traumatizing experience she during the hurricane that year. After that she never wanted to stay there again, and then sold the land to J. T. O’Connell.

View photos at SmugMug

Videos, Slideshows and Podcasts by Cincopa Wordpress Plugin